From MystaraWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Class is the primary definition of what your character can do. It’s more than a profession; it’s your character’s calling. Class shapes the way you think about the world and interact with it and your relationship with other people and powers in the multiverse. A fighter, for example, might view the world in pragmatic terms of strategy and maneuvering, and see herself as just a pawn in a much larger game. A cleric, by contrast, might see himself as a willing servant in a god’s unfolding plan or a conflict brewing among various deities. While the fighter has contacts in a mercenary company or army, the cleric might know a number of priests, paladins, and devotees who share his faith.
     Your class gives you a variety of special features, such as a fighter’s mastery of weapons and armor, and a wizard’s spells. At low levels, your class gives you only two or three features, but as you advance in level you gain more and your existing features often improve.
     Each class listed below includes a table summarizing the benefits you gain at every level, and a detailed explanation of each one. Adventurers sometimes advance in more than one class. A rogue might switch direction in life and swear the oath of a paladin. A barbarian might discover latent magical ability and dabble in the sorcerer class while continuing to advance as a barbarian. Elves are known to combine martial mastery with magical training and advance as fighters and wizards simultaneously.
     Optional rules for combining classes in this way, called multiclassing, can be found here.

     Each of the PHB's core classes has been broken down below into their individual archetypes. Differing from the Core D&D system, you must choose a "sub-class" when you create your character. This choice is not made later as per the basic rules. Often, your option of sub-class will depend greatly upon the Nationality you have chosen.


The following classes are extensions of the PHB barbarian class. In most cases, they are simply the barbarian class with a specific Path pre-chosen. You cannot multiclass into multiple forms of barbarian.

  • Berserker. A primal warrior that can whip himself up into great frenzies.
  • Totem Warrior. Savage warriors that draw power from totem animal spirits.


The following classes are extensions of the PHB bard class. In most cases, they are simply the bard class with a specific Bardic College chosen. You cannot multiclass into multiple forms of bard.

  • Loremaster. Bards that are skill-focused adventurers capable of great diversity and adept at many skills.
  • Skald. Bards that enhance the combat capabilities of their compatriots like none other.


Clerics are divine agents of the Immortals.

  • Cleric. Clerics are divine spellcasters that receive their spells from one or more Immortals that are closely aligned in attitude or philosophy.
  • Specialty Priest. Clerics dedicated to specific Immortals of mystara, adhering to the strictest of their Immortal codes in exchange for additional power beyond that of their priestly brethren.


Druids are worshipers of the natural world, the fey, and woodland spirits.

  • Druid of Oak Woodland priests who tend to the forests and deeply attuned to the feywild.


The following classes are extensions of the PHB fighter class. In most cases, they are simply the fighter class, specific specializations, and a pre-determined archetype. You cannot multiclass in to multiple forms of fighter.

  • Archer. A skilled warrior capable of delivering deadly ranged strikes and specialized in skirmishing.
  • Battle Master. To a Battle Master, combat is an academic field, something to study and understand.
  • Champion. A fighter dedicated to raw physical power and honing himself to deadly perfection
  • Defender. A warrior specialized in the protection of his comrades.


Technicians and mechanics skill in the pseudo-science of the mystara world.

  • Engineer: Engineers are mechanically minded individuals capable of creating strange inventions of an almost magical nature.


  • Monk: Master of Unarmed Combat and uses of spiritual power called Ki to perform acts of magic or feats of strength.


  • Paladin. Holy warriors of virtuous and lawful might.


  • Beastmaster. The beastmaster has developed a strong bond of friendship between himself and an animal companion.
  • Hunter. The hunter stands between civilization and the terrors of the wilderness.


  • Assassin. Individuals trained in stealth, poison, and disguise to help eliminate their foes with deadly efficiency.
  • Thief. Larcenous rogues skilled in thievery and burglary.


  • Sorcerer. Arcane casters born with innate abilities to cast magical spells.


  • Shaman. A primal spellcaster capable of furious elemental magics and calling upon spiritual creatures to serve on his behalf.


The following classes are extensions of the PHB warlock class. In most cases, they are simply the warlock class with predefined choices (which will be listed in the class description). You cannot multiclass in to multiple forms of warlock.

  • Favored Soul: Individuals favored by divine powers and promote the goals of angels and those they serve.
  • Warlock. Warlocks are arcane casters that have made a pact with an extra-planar creature in exchange for power.


  • Arcanist. Arcanists are learned arcane casters that learn magic from spellbooks. Arcanists strike a balance between specialists such as enchanters, evokers, and necromancers and the diverse and bookish archmage.
  • Enchanter. Enchanters are specialized in arcane magics that entrance and beguile others.
  • Mage. Mages are versatile practicioners of magic focused on research and rituals over the specialized forms of wizardry.